2024 Agenda

Below is the agenda for Transportation Go! 2024. View the agenda for its affiliated event, the SSGA Annual Meeting, here.


12 PM  – Registration opens

1 PM – Setting the stage
Eric Wenberg, SSGA
Brian Baldridge, Ohio Department of Agriculture
Ohio Soybean Council representative

Don Maier, MC

1:30 PM – Navigating ag trade business in international markets: Challenges, risks and concerns
Bahar Gokce, Olympia International

2 PM – Pass or fail 2024: Where should agribusiness lead transportation and logistics?
Mike Hogan, Consolidated Grain and Barge Co.

2:30 PM – The crystal ball: Trade in 2034
Gary Williams, SSGA Manager of Transportation

2:50 PM – 3:10 PM – Break

3:10 PM – Move it or lose it! Drayage and trucking
Kranti Mulik, USDA Agricultural Marketing Service
Scott Grenerth, Truck Specialized Information Services, Inc.
Tyler Coventry, Kenan Advantage Group, Inc.

4:20 PM – Disruption of routes and directions: Changing corridors in global trade
Scott Sigman, Equinanimous Advisory Service

4:45 PM – New ocean carrier opportunities
Hardy Pearson, Hapag-Lloyd

5:30 PM – Day 1 Recap
Don Maier, MC

5:45 PM – Bus departs for offsite reception – Museum of the Great Lakes

6-8 PM – Reception – Museum of the Great Lakes
Remarks from Thomas Winston, Port of Toledo


7:30 – 8:30 AM – Breakfast

8:30 AM – Turning Gen Z into Gen T [Transportation]
Mark Stewart, Agriculture Future of America

8:50 AM – Finding solutions from rail to sea
Max Vekich, Federal Maritime Commission
Michelle Schultz, Surface Transportation Board

10 AM – Break

10:20 AM – Update from the St. Lawrence Seaway
Anthony Fisher, Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation

10:45 AM – Panel: Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway ports
Joe Cappel, Port of Toledo
Paul LaMarre, Port of Monroe
Dave Gutheil, Port of Cleveland
Kate Ferguson, Port of Duluth-Superior
Ian Hirt, Ports of Indiana

Moderated by Peter Hirthe, Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation

12 PM – Lunch

1:30 PM – WGOW Shipping: Nature and conflict’s impact on transportation
Salvatore Mercogliano, Campbell University (hybrid)

1:45 PM – A moment for MarAd
Mike Sullivan, U.S. DOT Maritime Administration (MarAd)

2:05 PM – Ocean carrier opportunities
Jaeson Dandalides, CMA CGM

2:45 PM – Recap and wrap up

3:30 PM – Bus departs for Port of Toledo tour

4:45 PM – Tour ends and bus departs for drop off at Detroit Metro Airport (est. 5:30 PM)
Transportation will also return to the Renaissance Toledo Downtown.

Friday 8:30 AM – Bus departs hotel for Port of Monroe tour
Tour will end with drop off at the Detroit Metro Airport by 11 am.